Overdue report on my Porta bote

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:34
ThreadID: 39466 Views:11392 Replies:9 FollowUps:21
Took the bote for its maiden run on Tuggarah lake (central coast nsw).

About half way through running it in I found out the hard way, and much to my embarassment, that it will not do tight turns at any thing over slow speed.

About 15 years ago when I owned a flat bottome tinnie I could do tight turns fairly fast because the bum of the tinne just slide across the water during the turn.However this does not happen in the porta bote. Yes I no that I made a stupid mistake , It was a seniors moment.

On to the positives, we went to hay , kyolite moulemein etc for two weeks in October. the bote was carried on a cargo basket on top of the troopy. Since that trip I have removed the basket and have wrapped marine carpet around the racks. This has reduced the height that I have to lift the bote too. Although it is not difficult to now lift it onto the racks Except if the back of the troopy is facing down hill.

The bote is 10' long and the hull weighs 26kg. the 5hp motor weighs 13kg and the seats about 10kg.

The bote moves through the water very well. I have had a 12' flat bottom punt with 10 hp and I estimate that the bote is not much slower than that. It rode very well through choppy water on Burrendong dam. This was due to the design of the hull, which made for a very soft ride. The bote hull flexed a bit and the splayed bow absorbed the wave chop and kept the bote dry.

Because it gets onto the plane very quick it was easy to keep the bote speed down to a safe speed and still be on the plane which made for a good ride.

It was very easy to go around the trees and if you drop anything on the floor it makes a bit of a dull thud rather than the loud clanging you get with an aluminium boat.

It feels a bit strange to feel the floor of the bote flex when you stand up or when you are moving along. It does take some getting use to . Although most people don't get into the habit of standing up to often in a 10' foot dingy.

From getting the bote off the troopy and into the water should only take about 15 minutes. However, this is only achievable you you put it together when there are no people around. Unfortunately people see you putting it together and always come over for a chat. This usually puts about another 10 mins on the job.

Its easy to clean and pull apart ready for the trip home. This normally does not take as long as assembling.

The bote definitely catchs fish, especially at Burrendong dam.

To make the job of tying the bote onto the racks I have bought the straps used to hold surfboards on. As yet I have not tried this yet, but I think it will be easier than the current method of using ropes.

In summary I am very happy with the bote.

Regards Bob

Reply By: Scoof - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 12:32

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 12:32
Boo Boo,
Interesting reading Bob always wondered how those fold up boats would behave.
It away's sounded a bit sus, unfold a boat whack a motor on the back and go fishing ?
Sound's like it might be another great toy to take camping.

Scoof..
AnswerID: 205090

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:40

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:40
Well scoof

I was a bit sceptical when I first looked at 'em but not now.

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 465051

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 12:44

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 12:44
Did you buy it or build it??
AnswerID: 205093

Follow Up By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:00

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:00
Signman...I see them at 4wd and caravan and camping shows, I think there are a couple of different brands now...But they cost a few bob new....regards Phil.
FollowupID: 465020

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:22

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:22
G'day Phillip
We built ours with aluminium. Took some measurements- & did a few mods.
It's a bit lighter than PortaBote and packs flatter.
FollowupID: 465025

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:42

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:42
Signman

I bought it. Regards Bob
FollowupID: 465052

Reply By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 12:56

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 12:56
Boo Boo.....I met a real nice chap up at Port Smith W.A. and he had a folda bote, it must have been 10 to 15 years old (blue and black) although he had only had it for about 3 years himself and it still goes stong although it looked a little shabby.
What I liked about it was the fact you could carry it around all year and never use it and you would not really worry that it was there, however the minute you felt the desire to use it 10 minutes and it's in the water and your fishing anywhere...you cannot get much better than that.
Regards Phil.
The chaps name was Kevin and travelled in big old bus called "me and the old girl".......some of you folks reading this might have seen them...Ken and Joy....I saw them last at Carnarvan....They come from Victoria somewhere.
AnswerID: 205094

Reply By: sedg - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:11

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:11
Just be cafefull where you store the seats etc. I left mine in a shed for two months and the whiteants destroyed a seat.
AnswerID: 205099

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:44

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:44
Sedg

The seats are not made of timber on my model they are some type of very hard plastic.

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 465053

Follow Up By: sedg - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:07

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:07
Boo Boo

thats interesting I wonder if I can replace all, incl transom (?) for my 2003 12' model?
FollowupID: 465099

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:57

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:57
Sedg

Sorry about the delay in replying my email has been down for a few days.

Porta Bote has an agency in Sydney, it might be worth the phone call to ask for a price, or find some body with timber seats and build new ones using theirs as a template.

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 465423

Follow Up By: sedg - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 11:06

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 11:06
Bo Boo

I contacted the Sydney office and unfortunately they advised the the new improved plastics won't fit my boat. So the template and Marine/Formwork Ply is my only option.

Happy Boating.

James
FollowupID: 465827

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:04

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:04
I was out with a mate about 4 weekends ago and he has a home made one about 10' long. It looked exactly the same as the Porta-bote

He wants to build a new 12' one and I am going to do another one at the same time. The cost works out to about $500 for each boat total including all fittings and fixtures.

When the project gets going I will let you all know how it goes and post the photos on my web site.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 205112

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:45

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:45
Pajman

what sort of material will you use?
Look forward to seeing the end product.

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 465055

Follow Up By: Scoof - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:12

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:12
Pete

You might end up with a few orders.LOL

Scoof
FollowupID: 465078

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:15

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:15
The material is polypropylene. At this stage it looks like a late summer project. We need to get the stainless fittings made up and order some fancy spage age tape from the US for sealing the hinge lines.

Pete

FollowupID: 465101

Follow Up By: Scoof - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:36

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:36
Pajman Pete ,
Sounds good can't wait to see the photo's.
I have never seen one. (fold up boat that is) LOL

How good would it be to rock up with your C/T and a boat when camping.
Sure you can have a boat loader on the C/T but this would be more compact and would weigh less than just the steel in a boat loader for the C/T.IMO.

Scoof.
FollowupID: 465107

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 12:34

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 12:34
Scoof,

They look like this

Pete

FollowupID: 465264

Follow Up By: Scoof - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 13:04

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 13:04
Thanks Pajman,
Ive had a good look.

Been talking to a few blokes at work they have seen them at the Camping or Boat Show in Adelaide.

I would like to see one so might go to the next Show.

I have 3 boat's now , don't know what the SWMBO will think about another.
Might get rid of the 12' Dingy this idea is much better.Will do every thing the dingy will do and storage is heap's better.Don't really need a trailer either.
Scoof.....
FollowupID: 465269

Reply By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:14

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:14
We've had our Porta Bote for over twenty five years now, it is white and blue and has the tapered stern, not square like the later ones.
We've carted it all over Oz, used it in the ocean from the top end to way down south as well of lakes and rivers.
Sometimes don't use it for extended periods but it is available at short notice as has been said, very stable and will take a heap of punishment.
We also have the sail kit which makes it even more versatile.
AnswerID: 205122

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 10:01

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 10:01
traveller2

Yours sounds like the type that looks like a canoe and will only take about 2hp.

It only goes to show that they are not a dinky toy if yours and others are still going after 25 yrs!

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 465425

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 10:58

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 10:58
We use a 4hp on it, on still water we can get away with 2 adults and 3 kids but it is better with only 4 on board.
Ours is a 12 footer.
The later square stern porta bote's would give slightly more room.
I had doubts about the longevity of the plastic 'hinges" (we bought our boat when it was a few years old) but they are still as good as new.
Ours has wooden seats made out of ply as are the keelboards for the sail kit.
FollowupID: 465437

Reply By: Ozrover - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:08

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:08
Boo Boo.
I'm in the market for a 10' Porta-Bote right now, what sort of motor are you using, 2 or 4 stroke & how will it perform with 2 adults & 1 10 yo?

I had a look at a 4 hp 4 stroke johnno yesterday for $1350. Does this sound reasonable? & will it do the job?

Jeff.
AnswerID: 205292

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:51

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:51
Jeff

A 4 hp will do the job. As to a 4 stroke from memory they were to heavy and had the added problem of not being able to lay it down when travelling due to having a
sump and oil.

I also use an external tank and let the carby run dry before I lay the motor in the back of the troopy that way I have no fuel odours in the car.

Mine is a Mercury 5 hp and weighs 13 kg. If thats a new motor for the jonno then the price is reasonable. Mine cost $1500 on special.

I don't like your chances of getting a second hand bote, I looked at ebay for over 6 months and only 12' botes came up. I'm glad I got the 10' (did Consider12') but the 12' would have bee just a little too heavy to handle by one person.

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 465422

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 19:19

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 19:19
Jeff,

I've just sent you a PM. I might just have access to a near new 10 foot Porta Bote with an equally near new 4HP Mercury motor at a great price.

Let me know if interested.
FollowupID: 465604

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 20:47

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 20:47
Norm.
Replied to your message, sounds like a perfect excuse for a trip to the gold coast.
: )>
Jeff
FollowupID: 465617

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 12:31

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 12:31
Jeff

Sorry didn't read your comments fully.

The 10' bote will not go very fast with 3 people in it. It will also be fairly cramped
If norm can get a near new 2nd hand bote then go for it.

I paid about 5200 for motor, bote and oars and deliver to Scone.

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 465686

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:12

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:12
Is that pronounced porta Botty?
AnswerID: 205294

Follow Up By: Scoof - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:04

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:04
Yeh if that float's your boat.
FollowupID: 465312

Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 18:08

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 18:08
Boo Boo,
Saw on up at Bathurst Bay this year. The couple in it were heading back to their camp from a small island a couple of k's off the coast and were heading into a 30 knot breeze and 2/3 foot chop. Previously i thought these things were a bit fragile and only suited to calm waters, but since then maybe they are not such a gimmick.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 205355